Happy to Color Outside the Lines!

I think. I don’t know how many peppers are in a “peck” but I have sure handled an awful lot of them lately.

10 lbs to be exact.

Roughly 1.5 pounds went into freezer salsa when I was given 30 pounds of tomatoes last week.

Yes, that really happened.

Yes, that really happened.

The other 8.5 or so went into 8 quarts of pickled jalapenos. ๐Ÿ™‚

The process is easy, even for a canning newbie. I am going to give you the instructions for pickling about 3 lbs of chilies in the event that you aren’t going pepper-crazy like I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Wash and sterilize your jars in boiling water.

2. Wash all of your peppers, trim off any “bad” parts, but leave the stems. Puncture each chili so that they don’t all float in the jar. Note: Use gloves. Trust me.

3. For 3 lbs of peppers, You will need to heat a comboย ofย 6 cups of white vinegar, 2 cups of water and 3 whole cloves of garlic. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce, simmer for 5 minutes. Remove garlic.

4. Pack your peppers into the hot jars, leaving 1/4 inch headspace.

peppers1

Ladle hot liquid over peppers leaving 1/4 inch headspace. Remove air bubbles.

peppers2

5. Adjust two piece caps, place in your canner, and process using the boiling water method for 15 minutes.

While it seems like an awful lot of peppers, I have learned from experience that between the amount of chilies we eat and the number of jars I give away, I need roughly 15 per year. Needless to say, I will pickling again next week. Lucky for me, I have access to amazing peppers from an amazing farm. ๐Ÿ˜€

peppers3

Maybe I will get a peck next time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments on: "Peter Piper’s Got Nothin’ on Me!" (2)

  1. Yay for pickled peppers. I did a few jars of yellow peppers last year but really preferred using them to make chile sauce. This year I’ve done cucumber pickles a couple of times. So easy.

    • That’s why I love pickling so much. It’s so much easier than any other type of canning for me. The jalapenos are an annual event around here but I have been trying a few other things here lately. Sun Chokes, anyone?? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment