Happy to Color Outside the Lines!

Lemon-y Garlicky Kale

The kale coming out of the ground right now is so mild and delicious. I cannot possibly get enough of it! I keep pairing it with everything on the dinner table. I think my family is growing tired of it, but I,  clearly, am not. I am endlessly grateful for living in an area with such incredible farmers who put out such fantastic produce. It’s a real gift to have access to it.

I made some herbed fried chicken the other night with lebanese coriander potatoes and a galicky, lemon-y kale that was to die for.

SOOO easy too. Really doesn’t get better than this.

Ingredients:

1 bundle kale, stems removed, leaves torn into 2 inch pieces, rinsed and dried.

1 tbsp minced garlic

1/4 cup water

2 tbsp oil (I used sunflower)

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

salt to taste

Preparation:

Heat oil in skillet

Add garlic and heat briefly…you dont want it to burn!

Add kale, and quickly toss to coat.

Before garlic begins to brown too much, add water, toss, and turn heat down to med-low, braising for about 5 minutes, or until kale is tender.

Once kale is the tenderness you like, remove from pan, shaking off any excess liquid.

Sprinkle with salt and drizzle with the lemon juice.

Toss to coat, serve.

lebanesepotatoes2

This was SOO good with the lebanese potatoes I made…they were perfection when combined!

I’m loving the leafy greens of the current season. So good for you, so delicious, and so gratifying to support my favorite local farmer in the process!

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

